Customer Reviews

December 18, 2016
Review by: Rhonda

I have nothing but praise for Don and his quality of work and professionalism. I used to be a bargain hunter...going to Target, Sears or JC Penny....whoever had the best deal. I came across Don's website and was taken aback by his attention to detail in describing his business. His pictures were absolutely beautiful. So I called...set up an appt and hauled 4 children 8 and under for a family portrait and individual shots. The results were amazing, especially how he captured my 2 month old grandson. Forget the bargains, I will be back for all my children's milestone pictures. You truly get what you pay for!

July 06, 2016
Review by: Angel Moore

“My husband recently scheduled me a beginner photography class with Don, and I couldn't have asked for a better experience! He gave me personalized 1:1 instruction for my camera, giving me the confidence to get out there and start shooting. He is very informative, easy going, and makes learning fun! I will definitely follow up with more classes as my skill set advances.”

March 11, 2016
Review by: Stephanie K.

To the people out there who are really interested in professional photography please give Don Rose a call..Don Rose is very knowledgeable and is a pro at what he does first and foremost...Don takes his photography very serious. This is his passion and this is his life....SO please give Don a call...

August 23, 2015
Review by: Danielle Hilliard

Don recently completed my daughter's senior photos. He was easy to schedule with and very accommodating with her crazy schedule. We chose to stay on site for her photos, and the outdoor location was absolutely gorgeous. The photos turned out beautiful. We could not be more pleased with the results. He took a great variety of shots and captured her true personality. We appreciate the time he took to make her feel comfortable and his willingness to try different things to get the shot just right. We would highly recommend Don for any photography needs. His work is fantastic and he is a pleasure to work with.

July 09, 2015
Review by: Annette Devinney

When it comes to photography, I am definitely not a beginner. But I wanted to be able to fully utilize my camera and of course, improve my pictures. In just a few hours, Mr Rose showed me things I didn't even know my camera was capable of doing! I had list of questions and I didn't even need it because he covered everything on my list! He made it fun to learn and I cant believe I was there for over there over 3 hours! It went so fast. If you are a beginner or an experienced photographer or even just want to get the most out of your camera without reading a 200 page manual or sitting in a crowded class, Schedule an appointment. Mine was a gift and it was perfect.

May 03, 2015
Review by: Anthony Barbato

Mr. Don Rose did an excellent job instructing us on our level in using our cameras. We each came in with different levels of knowledge as well as different cameras. We were able to listen, learn and then use what we learned to instill what he taught us. The lesson was well thought out and also explained very well. He also had what we learned in class in notes for us to refer when we are at home experimenting.
The tips and and information opened our eyes to photography. I would definitely recommend taking a lesson with Mr. Rose. As we get more experience we look forward to taking one of his advanced classes.

Jan. 20, 2015
Review by: K. H.

Had 2 classes with Don so far. What an incredible experience! I have been shooting pictures for a few years, but I have now learned to shoot photography. He teaches to you as a person, learns what you know about your gear and works on making you a better photographer. If you have the opportunity to take a class with him, DO IT! You truly wont be disappointed. If you want to be a better photographer....spend the time and put in the effort - because he certainly does. Thank You Don!

Dec. 15, 2014
Review by: A.G.S. Company

My company sells products on the web. After our first experience with a photography firm that claimed they were professionals and could handle the task at hand, it turned out to be a disaster. The photos looked like snap shots and were very poorly lit. Our beautiful products looked horrible!

After an extensive search on the web for another photographer, we found Don Rose Photography. In short, our photos look amazing. We plan on having our entire product line re-photographed by Don. We highly recommend this company for all of your photographic needs. Very professional work!

Walter Mizaker, President - A.G.S. Company

Dec. 01, 2014
Review by: Margart Frazier

I had a one on one class with Don this past weekend and it was great. He has a lot of knowledge that he is very willing to share. He taught in a fashion that you were working your way to the correct solution and not just telling me how to do it. I would highly recommend taking a class or two from him.

Sept. 26, 2014
Review by: Sandra M.

I have four children and this was my fourth and finial child to graduate and the fourth senior session with Don. As always, beautiful work.

Sept. 14, 2014
Review by: The Harrison Family

OMG, the senior photos of our daughter are just breath taking. Thank you so much for all the time you put into our session.

Sept. 13, 2014
Review by: Caroline Coulter Chapman

Was just there with my daughter for a senior photo shoot with Don. We were very pleased - in addition to being great at what he does, he made it a fun and enjoyable experience. I highly recommend him.

July 28, 2014
Review by: Sue Dado

I have taken several private lessons with Don and have learned far more than I thought possible in such a short period of time. Each class was tailored to my skill level and the goals I wanted to achieve. I would HIGHLY recommend both him as a photographer and a teacher. Going anywhere else would be nothing shy of a waste of time and money.

July 10, 2014
Review by: Amazing Class, T.F.

I have had my DSLR for about two years now and considered myself to be not too bad with it. Before Don's class I had never used the manual mode and didn't have an understanding of aperture, iso, or shutter speed. After a one on one class that was about 4 1/2 hours, I feel like my eyes have been opened to photography (rather than the picture taking I was doing before).

And that was just the start; we also covered other things like the importance of cleaning the lens and other equipment, using adobe software to take the photos to the next level, and what kind of equipment I should be looking at for the future.

I feel like after a short and VERY inexpensive class, my photos look 1000% better. Don tailored the entire class to what I needed help with and didn't waste time on the things that I was already comfortable with. I would recommend his classes to anyone. I can't imagine that there is a better class for the money anywhere around. Thanks Don!

June 28, 2014
Review by: Dave R.

I have always enjoyed photography, but have only used point and click cameras. I recently purchased a DSLR and wanted to learn how to take pictures in manual mode. After several internet searches, I came upon Don Rose Photography. While reading the reviews on his website, it became apparent to me that this class was exactly what I wanted. I called Don and scheduled a class for June 28th.

I was not disappointed, as Don's class was exactly what I was looking for. The content was spot on for my needs and Don was both informative and entertaining. He never once moved on without making sure I was comfortable with what we had just covered and his explanations were put into simple terms that I easily understood.

I would recommend Don's class to anybody interested in becoming a better photographer. I truely believe that this class would have been worth it at twice the price.

April 21, 2014
Review by: Tina F.

I am not a beginner , but I am far from an expert in photography. I took a class of Don's on Saturday April 19. I had been looking for a class for a long time, but could only find online classes. Which I didn't want...I need the hands on experience.

When I found Don's class and talked to him on the phone...sign me up!! Anyone wanting to take a class, DON'T consider any class but Don's. He is very knowledgeable, funny and explained everything on my terms so I could understand. He didn't move on to another subject without making sure I understood. I was impressed with the cost when I signed up, but after I finished the class...IT WAS WELL WORTH EVERY CENT!

I switched from 35 mm film to digital, and quite frankly, digital intimidated me. Don took care of that! Now, I can't wait to get out and about and tinker around with my camera. I would not hesitate to take any other classes Don offers. I was with him for 5 1/2 hrs, drove an hour and a half each way and would do it all over again! This is a class any photographer will benefit from, and if you don't...it's your own fault! Don is a great teacher! Thanks so much Don!!

March 22, 2014
Review by: Walter S.

I am a new camera owner and wanted to learn how to take better photos. I decided to take a class. I did a web search for photography classes and found that the only programs available were at local colleges and Don Rose Photography. I contacted Mr. Rose about attending a class which by the way, he was very informative. He spent about one half hour on the phone with me explaining what topics he would cover and told me his class fee was $65.00 for 3-4 hours of instruction. I thought that the price was a little much. I contacted WCCC and decided to take the personal enrichment course for digital photography. The college offered 6 classes, 3 hours per class for a price of $89 tuition + $8 material/lab fees.

After attending the classes at the college for 6 weeks I felt very confused and drained. There was not enough personal instruction due to the amount of people attending the class. I live on the west side of Monroeville and I figure the class at the college cost me not only my time but adding in fuel costs, I figure I spent a little over $200.00 in total with the $89 tuition + $8 material/lab fees. Weeks later I decided to contact Don Rose again about attending a class.

To sum it up, I took one class that ran a little over 4 hours and by the way; this was a one on one class in his personal studio. He used terms I could understand and I felt very lucky to meet an individual with so much knowledge. I left his class with a firm understanding of how to use my camera. If you're thinking of attending a local college, consider Mr. Rose as your first choice.

Jan. 31, 2014
Review by: Aaron

I took a class in November and Don Rose was extremely helpful. He spent over 3 hours teaching me about my camera, aperture, iso, and shutter speed. If you're thinking of taking a class, take one from Don Rose Photography. You will not walk away disappointed.

Jan. 05, 2014
Review by: Jennifer Wilson

Extremely knowledgeable, and an excellent teacher! I highly recommend him for anyone looking to expand their knowledge on photography whether they're an amateur or a pro!

Dec. 02, 2013
Review by: Larry M.

The experience was amazing working with you in your studio last week. The lighting class I took with you in a word, "Outstanding!" You most certainly know what you're doing in portraiture lighting set-ups. I know now I have a long road ahead of me to become a better photographer. I can't begin to thank you enough for sharing your professional secrets with me. People, this guy is a true professional photographer and I highly recommend taking a class no matter what skill level you're on. I have never shot at this level of confidence before and the photos I shot in class are some of the best I have ever done. Thanks again Don.

Nov. 11, 2013
Review by: Mrs. Wells

The photo restorations you've done for me are fantastic! I can't believe you were able to fix the torn and missing parts. The color looks better than the original, thank you.

Nov. 09, 2013
Review by: The James Family

Our family portraits are beautiful Don, thank you so much for your experience behind the camera.

Oct. 24, 2013
Review by: Mike Schafer

Tonight, I launched my new website, designed and built by Don. What had taken more than three years for website-impaired me to attempt (which was a lame, one-page website that did nothing), Don pulled together quickly and deftly in just a few weeks after I turned the project over to him. Now I'm in business selling products through my new site. Don's a true professional when it comes to photography and website design and management!

Sept. 07, 2013
Review by: Mike Schafer - Editor, Passenger Train Journal - Lee, Illinois

Don Rose is BRILLIANT as both a photographer and a photo technician and as a webmaster! I've been a semi-professional photographer for nearly 50 years, so I know an exceptional photographer when I meet one and see his or her work, and Don is one of them.

March 13, 2013
Review by: N.F.P.

Don Rose of Don Rose Photography has personally taught me more than any online tutorial or other class could have taught me. Don covered my in camera settings, my 580 EX II Flash settings, walked me through all of my lenses capabilities and limitations, how to effectively and successfully set up multiple off camera flashes, and made me much more aware of significant features within LightRoom 4 and Photoshop improving my workflow and post production knowledge dramatically. As a photographer and a teacher, Don Rose is the REAL DEAL in every aspect of photography. Choose Don Rose Photography and expect incredible results!!

March 13, 2013
Review by: Linda C.

We are so pleased with the photos Don took for us, he takes his time and it shows. His dedication to the job is second to none. We get so many compliments on our photos.

Feb. 25, 2013
Review by: Rebekah

Today’s class, controlling the camera’s aperture and shutter speed with Don was very informative. Don is very enthusiastic and takes the time to make sure that you understand what he is conveying. He is a down-to-earth, caring person as well as an extreme professional behind the camera and beyond. I’m looking forward to learning more from Don in the future!

Feb. 07, 2013
Review by: Patience Ferree

I cannot write enough good things about Don Rose Photography. His knowledge, experience, and talent are outstanding! All the pictures came out beautiful, they are absolutely priceless! I've had bad experiences in the past with places like Target, Wal-Mart, JcPenney, etc. once these department stores lure you in with \"coupons\" you end up spending an awful lot of money for just substandard photos. I am already recommending him to my friends and family and will using him for all of my memorable moments.

Jan. 02, 2013
Review by: The Henry Family

We cannot say enough how professional you were in our home and the time you spent with us. Our family Christmas photos are so beautiful. The color you captured is truly breath-taking! Thank you so much.

Oct. 05, 2012
Review by: Davion

The Photoshop class I attended with you was amazing to say the least! I learned so much in 3 short hours. I know a lot of people that use Photoshop and they can't come close to your knowledge of the software. Dude, you're a freaking master at your craft! I can't wait to take another class and thank you for your patients.

Sept. 21, 2012
Review by: Kelli

The photos of our dog are so beautiful. We are very pleased with your work.

Sept. 05, 2012
Review by: Mark and Dena

Our family portraits are beautiful!!! Very professional work Don, thank you.

Aug. 29, 2012
Review by: Bobbi

My sister graduated last year and she used another well known local senior photographer. A friend of mine had his senior photos done at your studio. When I saw his photos I knew you were the one for me. My sister paid almost two times as much as you charged and my photos look 100% better. Thanks for all the time you spent with me, it was a fun day for me and you made me feel very comfortable.

Aug. 29, 2012
Review by: Client

My senior photo shoot was awesome! The photos are very professional. Thank you.

Aug. 25, 2012
Review by: Matt

The last time I was at my photo shoot with Don I learned there were many different ways to take a photo. I found out by staying relaxed and loose it helps the photographer find the look I needed as a model, and with all the lighting he has, I was amazed with the different looks he could create. I would recommend Don Rose to everyone because he makes the photo shoot really easy and fun. My photos are just fab!

Aug. 15, 2012
Review by: The Georgian Inn of Somerset

Excellent Photography on our website, for our marketing, even on our billboards. A web designer who will be there when you need them. Thanks Don.

Charles W. Charrie, President, CEO Realco Inc - Charreal Properties, Inc - The Georgian Inn of Somerset

July 03, 2012
Review by: Paul M.

For years I have wanted to make photography a hobby. Through my computer business I have met multiple photographers all with different suggestions on how I should proceed. After speaking to Don and discussing the budget I wanted to spend to get started without knowing if I was going to enjoy this new hobby I felt confident in making my first SLR purchase. And of course not knowing what I was doing I had discussed lessons with Don as well. I have owned many point and shoots but pulling my new canon out of the box was a whole new beast to me. I contacted Don and first thing I said was “ok, now what” we scheduled my first lesson.

After the first lesson I felt like I was in a whirlwind with all the things I wanted to learn But Don slowed me down and said "let's do this the right way." I am happy he did. I have learned a great deal from him over the next few classes and look forward to more classes. It is nice to find someone who can dumb down the terms without making me feel like I am being talked down to because I don't understand. I would love to show others what I have accomplished with the teachings from Don. I have told many people who now come to me and say show me how. I tell them, "Take a class with Don!" He is well worth it. Thanks Again Don

July 02, 2012
Review by: Eddie

I’m a new user to Lightroom and needed help! As a photographer myself I came across his blog and found that Don was teaching Lightroom. At first I felt a little embarrass to say I was a competitor in the same field as he was and not knowing how to edit my own photos after a shoot. I told him who I was and he told me that as competitor’s we need not compete against each other, we can learn from each other. I must say that he was very professional and quite enthused about teaching me. After the class I could not believe how much I didn’t know about corrections to a photo. Looking forward to the next class.

Thanks Don, you’re the man!

June 29, 2012
Review by: Dennis W.

I also took the Digital Photography class at WCCC. Not at all what I expected the class to be. The class was rather large with 20 people and 16 different cameras and the subjects were gone over very fast. It takes a while for things to sink in with me. I found Don Rose Photography online and took some classes with him.. Well to keep this short my photos went from the trash bin to some pretty decent photos. I still have a lot to learn so I know where I will be learning from.

May 21, 2011
Review by: Julissa

Our kitty just wanted to thank you for the beautiful photos you took the other day. She is very pleased with your work.

March 11, 2011
Review by: Kim and Andy P.

We just wanted to complement you on the fantastic job you did in capturing our wedding. The photos are breathtaking! You came highly recommended and the finished photos speak professional. Thanks so much Don, Kim.

Jan. 07, 2011
Review by: Erich H.

I have been using Don Rose for all of my graphic designs and photo shoots for the past 5 years and would highly recommend him! He is a skilled professional and an exceptional graphic designer and photographer. If you need the type of services he offers I can assure that he is without a doubt the person you want to contact.

Dec. 11, 2010
Review by: Client

Don Rose knows his stuff and has a good personality; I will use him for all my photography needs.

Nov. 26, 2010
Review by: Client

I recently had the pleasure of visiting Mr. Rose's photography studio and was totally impressed 100 times over with the professional equipment he works with. From beautiful backdrops to awesome lighting -- he is a true professional!

Nov. 25, 2010
Review by: Ruth K.

We have known Don Rose for many years, and have nothing but the highest respect for him and his work! He has designs two web sites for us and they are top notch. We will continue to use his services, appreciate his friendship and recommend him at any and all opportunities we have.

Nov. 18, 2010
Review by: PTM

Don designed a corporate web site for us with much success. He incorporated what we wanted with some original ideas of his own to find a winning combination. We are always receiving compliments on it. The process was easy, quick and painless. We provided the info and pictures then Don took care of the rest. We were able to monitor the progress through the design process via a web link and make any changes before the website was formally introduced. His updates are timely, usually the same day and he was also able to set us up with email accounts, room to expand our website in the future and an area for customers to email us questions and requests. Overall, for the cost and personal service we received, I don't think that there is anyone better. Jim-PTM Inc.

Nov. 16, 2010
Review by: RunCom

Outstanding photographer with graphic skills unmatched by others! RunCom Systems.

Nov. 16, 2010
Review by: WCBA

Highly recommend Don Rose for his expertise in Web Design and Photography! We were very impressed with his knowledge and attention to every detail. He went above and beyond our expectations in designing our web site as well as all the photography involved in the process. You can't go wrong with Don Rose....The Staff at the Westmoreland County Blind Association.

Nov. 15, 2010
Review by: Very Happy Client

He knows the fine art of photography very well. Very nice person to work with! I will use his services again.

Nov. 15, 2010
Review by: Client

Very professional artistic and creative photography. Superb attention to details! Wonderful person to deal with. Will most certainly use again in the very near future.

Nov. 15, 2010
Review by: Client

Creative and artistic photography! Wonderful person to work with. Will definitely use again in the very near future. Highly recommend!

Nov. 14, 2010
Review by: D.

In the search for a professional web-designer & professional photographer, I found Don Rose to be EXACTLY what I was looking for. The work Don did developing my web-site as well as the photos for the site exceeded my expectations! Both the site & the pictures were creative, professional and pleasing to the eye with acute attention to detail, feeling, composition & structure! In addition, the turnaround was very quick - developing a GREAT Web Site in a matter of days for me to the exact specifications I had asked for and more! I found Don Rose to be approachable, professional, detail oriented and a pleasure to work with. If you are looking for Web Design or Photography, I highly recommend Don Rose Photography, as he is the Best!

Nov. 13, 2010
Review by: S.T.

"Your knowledge of what it takes for a business to successfully sell their products and services makes it clear: you are one of the industry's top photography experts." I can truthfully say that in my 22-year career, "Don Rose Photography is one of the greatest professional organizations I have been fortunate to work with." Our magazine ad is beautiful...

Nov. 01, 2010
Review by: Client

Wonderful person to deal with. Will most certainly use again in the very near future.

Submit Your Review



Quality is our number one priority; with the combination of total commitment to our customers, we always employ the very highest standards of technical excellence from the first shot to the last edit, it's all about the IMAGE!

Please share your opinions with others. Writing reviews is a great way to share your experience of our services while benefiting other customers.